On Waiting…

On Waiting…

 If there’s anything I’ve learned from living in Denmark these past few weeks, it’s the importance of adaptability. Though a skill I’ve admired prior to my January arrival, moving to a new country surely drills the message in.

 Walking the streets of Copenhagen, I’ve quickly realized how locals adapt to their surroundings. Take the weather, for instance– on rainy days, I’m bound to see hundreds of bikers making their commute just the way they do when the sun’s rays stretch their reach across the sky. Likewise, snow and temperature drops don’t keep people inside, but rather prompt them to zip up their full-body snow suits (in taste with the gear I would bundle up in to go sledding as a kid) and brave the city.

 People here don’t seem to wait for perfect weather or the days to get longer– they learn to go about their day despite the conditions.

 Before arriving in Denmark, I had many bucket list items in mind–both big and small. Some involved local travel, such as taking a day trip to nearby Malmö, while others simply focused on how I would style the pieces in my closet. But as I come up on a month of living here, I found myself astounded as to how I have yet to experience so many of the things I so desperately wanted to do.

 The cream colored socks I envisioned pairing with my buckle-up Mary Janes still sat patiently in their original packaging. The film I tirelessly worked to stuff into my carry on had no more than one picture on the roll. I have yet to see the Little Mermaid statue or visit friends in Amager, as it seems that there will always be a better day to do so.

 Despite any hesitancy, I’ve decided to stop waiting for the perfect time and to just start doing. In the spirit of perseverance, here are a few things I’ve done to break my pattern of idleness.

A Visit to Nyhavn

 As one of the first images to pop up when researching Copenhagen, Nyhavn quickly caught my eye. Though it took me about three weeks to make the journey (a whole one extra metro stop from DIS), the visit was well worth the wait.

 It was exactly how I imagined– the colorful buildings lining the canal, whose borders were parking spots for boats decorated with twinkling string lights. People wandered leisurely past vendors, selling gløgg and pastries, while music weaved itself through the air.

The funny thing is I ended up right back at Nyhavn no more than a week later, after finishing a group project for my Danish class in the area. It took me so long to make the trek on my own, not realizing how often I might make a return visit.

KFT Asian Market

 After a disappointed attempt to find ingredients key to Asian cooking at local grocery chains, I became discouraged that I wouldn’t be able to recreate flavors I crave back home. I decided to turn this dismay into action and find the best Asian grocery store in Copenhagen!

 Walking into KFT, which is located in the city’s former Meat Packing District, I immediately found comfort in its offerings. Browsing the aisles, I stumbled upon an entire shelf loaded with different brands of chili oil and a freezer section stocked with dumpling skins and disc-shaped tteok, perfect for making my favorite spicy rice cake soup.

 Outside of the shop, the slight drizzle and blue awnings brought about a light fog, wrapping the rooftops together into a beautiful scene.

Walking, walking, walking

 Though this one may seem a little simple, one of my favorite things that I’ve actively done while abroad is walking. My most memorable daily activities at home and school have been the neighborhood route I frequent with my family or the Georgetown strolls I venture on with good friends. I’ve been lucky to find great walking paths in Copenhagen to help recreate these experiences.

 A typical walking path, I’ve found, has been situated right next to a matching one for bikes. I can watch the cyclists zoom by, as I step past manicured bushes and puddles left over from a prior rain shower. People watching, I see parents dropping their kids off at school and elderly couples getting their daily sun.

 As I continue down the trail, I make my way back to the start, feeling refreshed after spending some time in nature.

—–

 As I reflect on the things I’ve done and the things I haven’t, I wonder how I will remember my time abroad. Will future me think back on the hours I spent in my room, waiting for the perfect weather or time to venture out? I realize that it’s the things I do now that will become the memories I reminisce upon in the future, and am encouraged to keep going. I want to give myself a lot of experiences to later recall and that starts from living them presently.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started